Greece | Measures

16 August, 2020: 


Until at least August 31, 2020, all travelers arriving from Malta, Romania, Bulgaria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Spain or Sweden must have a negative PCR test, taken no longer than 72 hours before arrival.

The certificates should be written in English and bear the name and passport/national ID number of the traveler. In addition to this, all visitors arriving by air, land or sea transport will be subject to random tests upon arrival.


In the event of a positive result, they will be contacted and placed on 14-day quarantine, with expenses covered by the Greek state.
See other requirements for yachts below.


National Public Health Organization webpage for latest updates – 

Protocol for sea arrivals in Greece.

Latest from Italy

12 August, 2020: 


Starting from today, anyone who has transited through Croatia, Greece, Malta or Spain, will have to show a negative PRC test taken in the last 72 hours or undertake a test upon arrival and quarantine to wait for the results.

>>Ministero della salute

Croatian Waters

13 July 2020


Croatia remains open to EU nationals, the Schengen Area, and Schengen associated countries’ nationals.

Third-country nationals are still not allowed to enter Croatia, unless they are chartering a yacht, or have their own yacht based in Croatia.

Third-country nationals may enter Croatia without having to self-isolate upon arrival, by presenting a negative PCR test for SARS-CoV-2, not older than 48 hours (from the moment of swab taking until arrival at the border crossing).

Failure to provide a valid negative PCR test will require the 14 days’ mandatory quarantine/self-isolation.

11 July, 2020


U.S. citizens arriving to Croatia for tourism, business, urgent personal reasons, or educational purposes must present a negative PCR test not older than 48 hours (starting from the time of taking the swab until arrival at the border crossing). This is also valid for passengers and crews traveling by yacht. 
Travelers whose test is older than 48 hours will be allowed to enter Croatia, but they will be issued a self-isolation order and will have to be tested again locally, at their own expense. Travelers who fail to present a PCR test upon arrival and refuse to take a test locally will be ordered to self-isolate or quarantine for 14 days. A local test cost ranges from $130 to $300 or more, depending upon the location, and the result can be expected between 24-48 hours

Porto Montenegro

June 1, 2020: 


Montenegro removes quarantine requirement for yachts arriving from designated countries – with less than 25 people infected on 100 000 inhabitants.

Porto Montenegro has permission to accommodate yachts coming from outside Montenegro, subject to a quarantine period. The official quarantine period for nationalities not on the list is as per the EU standard of 14 days. Recognition of time spent at sea between the last port of departure and Montenegro will also be taken into consideration and subtracted from the 14 day period. 
At least 24 hrs prior to arrival send yacht registration, crew list and copies of all crew passports to Porto Montenegro and make a booking.

Crew changes are possible. Arriving crew can join the yacht immediately on arrival, but this does then require the yacht and existing crew to enter into a 14 day quarantine period. Alternatively arriving crew can obtain permission to undertake the required 14 day quarantine period ashore prior to joining the yacht. The marina has a hotel suitable for quarantine.

All businesses and services are now open and fully functioning.

French Waters

16 August, 2020: 


France has been added to the UK restriction list.


Travelling from EU countries is allowed without restrictions.
If traveling from a country on the list of high-risk countries, testing will be required before entry is permitted. 

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Advice for Foreign Nationals <<


05 July, 2020:

International borders with countries outside the EU reopened on July 1.
Yachts coming from other EU countries and certain authorized countries can now enter France.
The EU has now lifted its internal border controls within the Schengen area and has issued a recommendation to authorize entry for citizens of the following countries, beginning on 1 July: Algeria, Australia, Canada, China (pending a decision on the reciprocity principle), Japan, Georgia, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay. 
The European Union has set up a new website and a mobile app where you can see if travel is possible to each member state, the requirements of each destination, and other information to answer travellers’ questions. >> Re-open EU for travel information and guidelines for each destination.

Life is a beach

The prefect of the Alpes-Maritimes Bernard Gonzalez has announced that all the mayors who have requested this week can reopen their beaches this Saturday 16th May 2020.

Balearics Situation

16 August, 2020: 


Since the state of alarm ended on 21 June Spain has seen a sharp rise in Covid-19 cases (nearly 100,000). Consequently many countries have now implemented quarantine for any travelers coming from Spain. 


New measures have been implemented by the Government to help curb the spread of the disease, including closing nightclubs and banning smoking in public without social distance.


All travelers flying to Spain must fill in a Public Health Form.


>> Ministry of Foreign Affairs Information for Foreigners.


>> Official Tourism Website with Practical Information for Tourists in the Covid-19 Situation.


19 July, 2020: 

While Catalonia is the first to return its citizens to home confinement, parts of Galicia have been sealed off to visitors and a Basque town imposed a curfew to tackle their own outbreaks. Face masks are now mandatory everywhere in Galicia except when eating or drinking. 


13 July, 2020:

The use of face masks are now compulsory throughout Catalonia for anyone over the age of six in both outdoor and indoor public spaces (except on the beach). Other regions are thinking of doing the same, including the Balearics.


21 August, 2020:

As of midnight, on Friday 21st August 2020, passengers arriving from the following countries will be required to submit a negative COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test before boarding flights to Malta. Passengers who do not present this certificate can be asked to swab at the Malta International Airport or asked to self-quarantine in Malta upon arrival.

  • Bulgaria

  • Romania

  • Spain (applies to passengers arriving from Barcelona, Girona and Madrid)

Passengers arriving from the abovementioned destinations will be required to present a negative result of a swab test carried out within the last 72 hours.

This ‘amber list’ will be updated regularly.

All visiting yachts, or Maltese yachts returning from overseas, must submit:
– Maritime Declaration of Health
– Crew List
to 24 hours before their planned arrival in Malta, and wait for approval before travelling.

 Maltese Tourist Office 



2 rue du Gabian, 98000 MONACO, PRINCIPAUTÉ DE MONACO

  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • YouTube


Copyright © 2020 John Taylor Yachting All rights reserved

Legal Terms & Cookie Policy